“Sing to the Lord, all the earth; proclaim his salvation day after day. Declare his glory among the nations, his marvellous deeds among all peoples. For great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; he is to be feared above gods. For all the gods of the nations are idols, but the Lord made the heavens. Splendour and majesty are before him; strength and joy in his dwelling place. Ascribe to the Lord, O families and nations, ascribe to the Lord glory and strength, ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name. Bring an offering and come before him; worship the Lord in the splendour of his holiness. Tremble before him, all the earth! The world is firmly established; it cannot be moved. Let the heavens rejoice, let the earth be glad; let them say among the nations, “The Lord reigns!”” – 1 Chronicles 16:23-31

We have a God who is worthy of our praise. We have a God who loves us, who forgave us, who sent His one and only Son to die for us. He is glorified, He is holy, and He is great. And so we worship Him. There’s only one problem, everyone assumes that there is one way to worship our Heavenly Father and that frustrates me. There is no set way to worship Him. Sure, the Bible talks a lot of singing our praises but there are hundreds of other ways to worship Him and I want to share some of them now.

“Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptable with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”” – Hebrews 12:28-29

Music

Everyone assumes that music is the one and only way to worship our Father. Sure, it is the most common form of worship because at church we sing hymns, we listen to worship music, and we play instruments in church bands or by ourselves. The Bible talks a lot about singing our praises to Him because it is the easiest way. I love singing to God, I love spending time in sung worship. At church, it’s the easiest way for me to connect with Him because I’m musically minded. But what if you’re not? What if you’re conscious of not singing in tune, or you don’t know the melody? People shouldn’t be worrying about that when worshipping Him. It drives me crazy when people (Christian and non) think that this is the only way to worship God, because it’s not! When people say they can’t worship Him in their own time because they can’t sing, or don’t know the words… a) God doesn’t care if you’re in tune or not and b) you can make up words of praise. I get a little mad. But moving on.

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth. Worship the Lord with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the Lord is God. It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving and his courts with praise; give thanks to him and praise his name. For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.” – Psalm 100:1-5

Drama

As you are all aware (I hope) I am doing a drama degree. I love drama, well you’d hope so if I’m studying it for three years. Using drama as a way of worship fascinates me and excites me because it is also a way of evangelism, much more than using music. In the past two years, I have been allowed to participate in dramas worshipping God. I’ve participated in dramas that share the gospel to believers and non-believers. Drama as a way of worship accesses lots of different emotions and ways of worship for different people. The first time I got to use drama as a way of worship was on the student mission in my first year; our script had been written especially for us and it was telling the story of Jesus through the eyes of three women. Apparently as the most qualified person there, I was tasked with directing this short drama and boy did I connect with God and feel myself worshipping His greatness. As we worked our way through the script, the three actors (including myself) found ourselves in tears because we were aware of how amazing our God is. When we performed it, people came to us afterwards and told us how moved they were. This is what drama is for, to engage the emotions and reach into the hearts of people who can’t engage with music.

Art

It doesn’t have to be a Picasso or a Monet; it could simply be a stick person, or splashing paint on a canvas. Drawing, painting, cross-stitching, modelling…this can all be a creative way to worship our Heavenly Father. To be honest, I don’t use art because I’m not very good at it. There was a time in my younger years where I would doodle and praise the Lord but it wasn’t an effective way for me to worship. But if it’s for you then great! I know this section isn’t as long as the other two, but that’s because I have experience in Music and Drama, I don’t in Art.

I’m going to round up this blog here, a) because it’s taken me a whole week to finish it due to essay writing commitments and b) everyone is different. Everyone worships the Lord in their own way, whether it is singing his praises or drawing our concept of Him. There is no right or wrong way to praise Him, there is no right or wrong way to talk to Him. Worship is a personal thing (the same as praying) between you and God so go forth and do it as you wish!

